Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
4

Plein Air Sketching on the Beach

4

First of all… I apologize for the horrible sound quality on this video! It was very windy!

And yes, I know I had paint on my face. 🤷🏻‍♀️😆

We’re on vacation in Galveston, which means I’ll be out of the studio for a bit. So I thought I’d share some of the creative things I’m doing while we’re here.

Today I packed up some supplies and headed to the beach for some sketching. I haven’t done much of that, so it’s a learning process. Deciding what to take and trying to keep it light were the first challenges. I think I need to make myself a checklist because I forgot my clips to hold the sketchbooks open. Otherwise, it all worked pretty well.

I found a spot close to our RV park that was behind some dunes, so it was slightly less windy there. The wind is always blowing down here! And it was also off the main beach so there weren’t any people looking over my shoulder.

I wasn’t in love with my sketches, but that’s ok. My goal was just to get used to this whole process and to have a good time, enjoying the fresh air and sunshine. And in that respect, it was absolutely a success, because I really enjoyed myself! I’m looking forward to the next time!

Discussion about this video

Welcome to my Art World
Welcome to my Art World
Authors
Lou Stine Art